





Paris, 29 November 2006

ANDESE PRIZE FOR THE 2006 FINANCIER OF THE YEAR

Baudouin Prot elected 2006 "Financier of the year", for the prize organised by ANDESE and INVESTIR in partnership with Fininfo.

Baudouin Prot has been elected winner of the prize 'Financier of the year' 2006. *Groupe Finance de l'ANDESE*, Association Nationale des Docteurs Es-Sciences Economiques (national association for doctors of economic science) established the prize in 1984. INVESTIR has hosted the prize since 1990, together with FININFO since 2002.

The prize is awarded to the person who has most contributed to the development of the finance industry in France during the year. The winner can be a public official, banker, insurer, pension fund manager, executive from a broking firm, journalist or company finance manager.

The initial selection is made by a committee comprising Andese members and representatives from Investir and Fininfo. The committee chooses a shortlist of five, on which members of the French financial community then vote.

This year, Investir, Andese and Fininfo have rewarded Baudouin Prot for the success of the acquisition of Italian-based BNL, which was conducted in a record time providing BNP Paribas a second retail market in Europe, and for the quality of the group results. BNP Paribas has enjoyed sharp growth in its international business and is now one of the world's 10 leading banks. 55 year-old Baudouin Prot has been chief executive officer of BNP Paribas since 2003.

Baudouin Prot succeeds Patrick Ricard (2005), Jean-François Dehecq (2004), Thierry Breton (2003) and Maurice Levy (2002). Michel Pébereau was the 2001 winner for the success of the merger between BNP and Paribas.

Contact:

Damienne Cointot: +33 (0)1 44 88 42 86

ANDESE PRIZE FOR THE 2006 FINANCIER OF THE YEAR

List of previous winners

Jacques de Larosière (1984)

Pierre Bérégovoy and Jacques Calvet (1985)

Edouard Balladur (1986)

Xavier Dupont (1987)

Bernard Arnault (1988)

Renaud de la Genière (1989)

André Lévy-Lang (1990)

Michel David-Weill (1991)

Marc Vienot (1992)

Claude Bébéar (1993)

Henri Cukierman and Gérard Pfauwadel (1994)

Antoine Bernheim (1995)

Lucien Douroux (1996)

Gérard Mestrallet (1997)

Bertrand Collomb (1998)

Thierry Desmarest (1999)

Jean-François Théodore (2000)

Michel Pébereau (2001)

Maurice Lévy (2002)

Thierry Breton (2003)

Jean-François Dehecq (2004)

Patrick Ricard (2005)

Baudouin Prot (2006)

ANDESE PRIZE FOR THE 2006 FINANCIER OF THE YEAR

List of the 2006 5 nominees

- Robert Daussun, chief executive officer (chairman of the management board) of LBO France, for having developed private equity business model in France.
- Philippe Dupont, chairman of Groupe Banques Populaires and Charles Milhaud, chief executive officer (chairman of the management board) of Caisse Nationale des Caisses d'Epargne, for having established Natixis
- Jean-Marc Forneri, chairman of Bucéphale France for the success of the investment banking boutique.
- Daniel Lebègue, chairman of the *Institut Français des Administrateurs* (French directors institute), for his ongoing efforts to improve corporate governance of French companies.
- Baudouin Prot, chief executive officer of BNP Paribas, for the group results and acquisition of BNL.